Carla Cassidy Books – Don't Turn Out The Lights!

January 9, 2011

Goodbye 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carlacassidy @ 3:07 am

I have to be honest – I couldn’t wait to kick 2010 to the curb.  For me it was a year of family issues, the death of a beloved dog and breast cancer.  The spring and summer went by in a kind of radiation  and fatigue fog and I still feel some of the aftermath of both.

I get rather maudlin at the end of each year, looking back on what I perceive as failures and cursing the opportunities I might have missed.   Christmas always goes by with a kind of meloncholy as I feel the rush of the wind of the year coming to a close.

But, I am an eternal optimist and so the New Year always starts with brimming possibilities.  Do I make resolutions?  Yes.  Do I stick with them?  Rarely.   But, I do enter the new era with the hope of peace and health and good things happening.

This is a new era for me also because three weeks ago my husband retired. (he’s much, much, MUCH older than me) <G>  So, I now have him home full time and we’re trying to find a schedule that works well for both of us.  I am blessed that he respects my work time and the need that a writer has to be alone. 

This is a year of tight writing deadlines for me, but I also intent to take time to write on some projects that are calling to me, things that aren’t under contract but whisper in my ear just before I close my eyes at night. 

I would like to be a better inspiration to the people in my writing chapter, people who supported me through the breast cancer and continue to support me not only as a writer, but as a person.

Oh, and we’ve booked another cruise for later this year.  I’ll work hard so that I can play hard when the time comes. 

Big plans for the New Year.  Here’s hoping it’s a great one for everybody!

Carla

2 Comments »

  1. Carla,
    Unless you wrote our books for us, you couldn’t do more to inspire our chapter! This year will be better, and I’m sure your husband will be a big inspiration for you as he wanders around the house. Write those stories that are bugging you, even if just for yourself.
    I’ll never stop thanking you for your help and inspiration, and know everyone else in our chapter agrees.

    Comment by Marianne Stephens — January 21, 2011 @ 11:27 pm | Reply

    • Marianne,
      Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your wonderful words! I come to the chapter meetings and whine and complain and vent about my life but that’s because I trust you all! You have no idea what the MARA chapter gives back to me!

      Comment by carlacassidy — January 22, 2011 @ 3:19 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

